Kph too mph... Help please

This section is for technical Q & A
Please try the search function before starting a new thread.
Forum rules
Many subjects will have been discussed before. Please try the search function before starting a new thread.
Check in the Know Your 2 as the information you need may already be there.
Important ! - Please make your topic title as descriptive as possible . titles with just "help" generally dont get as many answers as a title that points to the problem

Topic author
RyanW
Posts: 10
Joined: 20/10/13 10:46

Re: Kph too mph... Help please

Post by RyanW »

Yeah that maybe does sound easier, but see if I got a 180mph clock would it read the same if I got a 110mph? It's just down to the clock to how it calibrates not the gearbox or anything?
Thanks Ryan.


User avatar

Pav677
Posts: 477
Joined: 25/12/12 0:53
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 1
MR2's Owned: 2
Real Name: Gaz
Location: Stoke-on-Trent

Re: Kph too mph... Help please

Post by Pav677 »

If you are just changing the face you can see what you will need by working out the top speed showing on your clock and buy the right one. If you just change the unit from a uk car then it will just work no matter what the top speed showing. You also have to make sure (if you buy a unit) that it's not just a jap clock with the face changed.
Rev 2 GT-S[/b]-Lenso D1Rs, HKS BOV, Japspeed box, Apexi filter, Drilled grooved & redstuff pads, Tein ss, XSP IC, MBC, De-cat.
User avatar

jimGTS
Posts: 2578
Joined: 14/05/04 1:00
Years of MR2 Ownership: 9
MR2's Owned: 3
Location: North Kent

Re: Kph too mph... Help please

Post by jimGTS »

there is no such thing as a 180mph clock.
there is a 180kmph JDM clock, and UK 160mph clock


the clocks themselves do all the calibrating

the 110mph dial face youd just put over the top of a 180kmph dial
everything will still read in km mileage wise.

putting in a 160mph uk speedo will mean everything will now read in mph mileage wise
......Rev4 Tbar Turbo......
______Azure blue______
12.53 @ 114mph = ct20b UK record!
____Project, click me____
User avatar

Pav677
Posts: 477
Joined: 25/12/12 0:53
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 1
MR2's Owned: 2
Real Name: Gaz
Location: Stoke-on-Trent

Re: Kph too mph... Help please

Post by Pav677 »

jimGTS wrote:there is no such thing as a 180mph clock.
there is a 180kmph JDM clock, and UK 160mph clock


the clocks themselves do all the calibrating

the 110mph dial face youd just put over the top of a 180kmph dial
everything will still read in km mileage wise.

putting in a 160mph uk speedo will mean everything will now read in mph mileage wise
You have a better way with words than me :laughing
Rev 2 GT-S[/b]-Lenso D1Rs, HKS BOV, Japspeed box, Apexi filter, Drilled grooved & redstuff pads, Tein ss, XSP IC, MBC, De-cat.
User avatar

MRturboTom
Posts: 2386
Joined: 23/08/08 23:44
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 6
MR2's Owned: 9
Location: Preston, Lancashire

Re: Kph too mph... Help please

Post by MRturboTom »

Unless you have a 300kph trd clock lol.

The 180mph clock faces are rubbish as you only use such a small part of the dial. 30 mph isn't far off the rest peg.
Keep it 110 or 160 imo
'94 Mk2 Rev 3 GT-S 295 fwhp @1.2 bar
'93 Mk2 Rev 2 GT-S 296 fwbhp @ 0.9bar

goreden
Posts: 103
Joined: 16/09/10 18:47
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 5
MR2's Owned: 6
Real Name: Dennis
Location: st leonards on sea

Re: Kph too mph... Help please

Post by goreden »

jimGTS wrote:or you could fit a 110mph dial face over the top.

so youd keep your clocks, and milage will still be in KMs, but the needle will show you mph
Thats how my import mr2 was done, best way i think
1990 rev1 mk2 3s-ge (SOLD)
1993 rev2 mk2 3s-gte (R.I.P)
1991 rev1 mk2 3s-ge G-limited T-bar (SOLD)
1991 rev1 mk2 3vz-fe V6 (SOLD)
1991 rev1 mk2 1mz-fe V6

Topic author
RyanW
Posts: 10
Joined: 20/10/13 10:46

Re: Kph too mph... Help please

Post by RyanW »

Cool well am on the hunt for a proper 160mph British unit! Anybody have one? :laughing I do use PayPal often and won't mess about! I tried to upload pictures but it said they were to big to upload? Any ideas on how to sort that?

Thanks Ryan.
User avatar

peteV6R5
Posts: 2779
Joined: 13/08/07 13:06
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 12
MR2's Owned: 2
Real Name: Pete
Location: Stratford upon Avon
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Kph too mph... Help please

Post by peteV6R5 »

RyanW wrote:Cool well am on the hunt for a proper 160mph British unit! Anybody have one? :laughing I do use PayPal often and won't mess about! I tried to upload pictures but it said they were to big to upload? Any ideas on how to sort that?

Thanks Ryan.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Toyota-MR2-Re ... 1e815fcca7
Ryan with white dials from rev4 - direct fit
Only thing is they are turbo so you will need to swap the voltmeter from yours - but have it show boost not volts - not an issue have this on my V6 with speedhut dials.

1992 dial
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1992-TOYOTA-M ... 19e2c9514c
Image
Highland Drive 13/14/15/17/18/19
JAE 07/09/10/11/12/13/14/15/16/17
Japfest 09/11/12/13/16/19
Wales runs 14/15/16/17/18

Topic author
RyanW
Posts: 10
Joined: 20/10/13 10:46

Re: Kph too mph... Help please

Post by RyanW »

Hey thanks pete! That white dials look the business! But the £17.00 postage is a bit steep! The other dials look good too am interested in those, but as you say it's gota volt meter and mines a turbo gauge is this easy to change?

Thanks Ryan.

Edit: or is suppose I can just tae the speedo out and change it for my one so I won't need to change that gauge over!

Topic author
RyanW
Posts: 10
Joined: 20/10/13 10:46

Re: Kph too mph... Help please

Post by RyanW »

Bought those 1992 clocks, hopefully this should be good to covert it to mph! Can't wait to get them in the post! :D

Thanks Ryan.

lauren201195
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 30/09/20 15:28

Re: Kph too mph... Help please

Post by lauren201195 »

Rev4 turbo clock in kph stil how to convert and remove limiter
User avatar

jimi
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4123
Joined: 17/05/04 1:00
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 16
MR2's Owned: 1
Location: Glenrothes: The Kingdom of Fife
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: Kph too mph... Help please

Post by jimi »

lauren201195 wrote: 30/09/20 17:31 Rev4 turbo clock in kph stil how to convert and remove limiter
:confused1:
Is that a statement or a question ?
Black is not a colour ! .... Its the absence of colour
Image

lauren201195
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 30/09/20 15:28

Re: Kph too mph... Help please

Post by lauren201195 »

I have one that has not been converted to mph and needs limiter removed how’s the best way to do it it’s a rev4 turbo
User avatar

abovetherim
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 878
Joined: 29/01/11 18:53
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 9
MR2's Owned: 1
Real Name: Jan Olsson
Location: Leicester
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Kph too mph... Help please

Post by abovetherim »

lauren201195 wrote: 01/10/20 9:00 I have one that has not been converted to mph and needs limiter removed how’s the best way to do it it’s a rev4 turbo
If you buy a uk speedometer this will raise the speed limiter by a factor of 1.6 times. Or you can put a 110mph face on your speedo and fit a delimiter to the speed input wire at the ecu.
1991 rev 1 T Bar n/a 3sge import. A work in progress!!!
Post Reply

Return to “MK2”