MK3 Radio Code

This section is for technical Q & A only - any other threads will be deleted/moved. Please try the search function before starting a new thread.
Post Reply

Topic author
Hittboy
Posts: 3
Joined: 24/09/18 2:06

MK3 Radio Code

Post by Hittboy »

Hi all.
My OEM radio is on the blink, and I’m planning to buy a second hand one as a replacement.
Does anyone know if the standard radios need a code? I don’t want to buy a second hand one and then find I can’t use it.
Thanks.




supercookie
Posts: 91
Joined: 02/03/14 11:14

Re: Radio Code

Post by supercookie »

I've disconnected/connected my battery many times over the years and never needed a code so the answer is no

User avatar

jimi
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4003
Joined: 17/05/04 1:00
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 16
MR2's Owned: 1
Location: Glenrothes: The Kingdom of Fife
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Re: Radio Code

Post by jimi »

supercookie wrote:
21/06/20 21:22
I've disconnected/connected my battery many times over the years and never needed a code so the answer is no
Many (if not all) MK2's had coded factory head units
https://www.mr2oc.co.uk/know-your2/mk2/ ... ocked.html
You would have thought MK3's would be similar?
Black is not a colour ! .... Its the absence of colour
Image


MRHAPPY62
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 1273
Joined: 19/02/12 15:27
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 8
MR2's Owned: 3
Real Name: JAMIE
Location: WEST SUSSEX
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Radio Code

Post by MRHAPPY62 »

surely if you buy secondhand the seller will give you the code :confused1: if it needs one .
MK2 3sge Uk sold.
MK3 Chilli red sold.
MK2 Smg Gltd Super Edition now with V6

User avatar

jimi
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4003
Joined: 17/05/04 1:00
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 16
MR2's Owned: 1
Location: Glenrothes: The Kingdom of Fife
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Re: Radio Code

Post by jimi »

If he knows it ;)
Black is not a colour ! .... Its the absence of colour
Image


MRHAPPY62
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 1273
Joined: 19/02/12 15:27
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 8
MR2's Owned: 3
Real Name: JAMIE
Location: WEST SUSSEX
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Radio Code

Post by MRHAPPY62 »

If he does'nt dont buy it :facepalm:
MK2 3sge Uk sold.
MK3 Chilli red sold.
MK2 Smg Gltd Super Edition now with V6

User avatar

jimi
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4003
Joined: 17/05/04 1:00
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 16
MR2's Owned: 1
Location: Glenrothes: The Kingdom of Fife
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Re: Radio Code

Post by jimi »

Well I wouldn't and you wouldn't, but not everyone thinks of thiings like that. I can remember being asked to wire up a 2nd hand head unit only to find it was coded and the code the person had was incorrect. :facepalm:
Black is not a colour ! .... Its the absence of colour
Image


Topic author
Hittboy
Posts: 3
Joined: 24/09/18 2:06

Re: Radio Code

Post by Hittboy »

Decided to buy it as it was cheap.
The standard stereo doesn’t need a code.
I now have a working radio at last.

User avatar

jimi
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4003
Joined: 17/05/04 1:00
Gender: Male
Years of MR2 Ownership: 16
MR2's Owned: 1
Location: Glenrothes: The Kingdom of Fife
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Re: Radio Code

Post by jimi »

:th: glad it worked out, useful info about the MK3 head unit code :cool1:
Black is not a colour ! .... Its the absence of colour
Image

Post Reply

Return to “ICE”