New MR2 owner with tyre/wheel questions

Use this forum to find out what fits and to share fitment information and images.
The forum Administrator has chosen to advise you that this topic is 8 years and 5 months old and that you may wish to begin a new topic or use the search feature to find a similar but newer topic.

Topic author
BRG_MR2

New MR2 owner with tyre/wheel questions

Post by BRG_MR2 »

Hello everybody,

I recently bought a 1995 rev3 MR2. It's fitted with aftermarket wheels (KRS Racing Monoblock 17x7) and the current tyres need replacing - one of the fronts is badly worn and there's quite a lot of vibration at anything over 70. The tyres that are currently fitted are 215/40 on the front and 225/45 on the back. I could do with some advice about which new tyres to get, so I have a few questions if you'll indulge me. I'm a bit of a newb to all this so forgive me if some of this seems pretty basic.

1) Am I right in thinking that the rear tyres are too large and that 225/40 would be a better fit? 225/40 on 17 inch wheels certainly seems to be a closer match to the stock size of 225/50 (I believe) on 15 inch wheels.

2) The rears are only 10mm wider than the fronts. Am I right in thinking that ideally there should be a bigger difference? The wheels are all 7" wide so I don't think I can go wider than 225 on the back, so would getting narrower tyres on the front (205?) be a good idea?

3) Bearing the above questions in mind, can you give me any advice on some good tyres to get? I'm not looking for anything super expensive right now so a good budget tyre would be a good suggestsion. I'm not going to be doing any track days or anything like that, just the occasional bit of motorway driving at the moment. I can upgrade to something a bit better later on so suggestions for some higher quality tyres would be welcome too.