Misfire Mystery

Topic author
jgcobra

Misfire Mystery

Post by jgcobra »

Engine detectives, here’s one for you!

I would describe myself as an experienced homemade tinkerer, like many on here I think 🙂 I know my way around the car and engine, do my own service, and have done a tonne of mods and upgrades over time, but I’m not a trained mechanic, just a humble hobbyist. This one has me completely stumped. I’ll try to describe everything I know about it in the hope that someone much cleverer than me can piece together the mystery.

The car - 2003 MR2 MK3 with a 1ZZ engine, K&N induction kit, and Cobra Sport cat back quad exit exhaust. A few other mods but not relevant here.

The Problem

From cold, it starts up first time every time, purrs nicely, and performs well. This continues until the engine is fully up to temperature and I’ve been driving for about 20 minutes. At that point, it starts to run rough, rough idle, an unpleasant acceleration noise, and a super laboured acceleration between 800 and 2500 rpm. This only happens as I say after about 20 minutes of running at operating temperature, and is more likely if I’ve driven it hard. Sometimes it seems to start happening after I switch the car off, then back on a few minutes later and it is straight in to ‘rough mode’. It only ever happens when hot though, never cold.

When it is in ‘rough mode’ and I stop, the engine drops to about 700-800 rpm and has a notable ‘different’ noise to it, no longer purring but more like a sore throat trying to purr. Sometimes the rpm will bounce slightly when in this state, like it’s about to stall, but it doesn’t. If I sit still in that state for a while, the ‘check engine’ light will come on. The OBD codes read random cylinder misfires, though you can hear the problem well before any codes show and most of the time the check engine light never lights even though the problem occurs on every drive.